The Proust Questionnaire…

This is probably more for me than anyone else. If I remember, I’m going to try and answer these again at the end of 09. See what changes, what stays the same…

Your most marked characteristic?

I’m really not too sure. Ha. Indecisiveness? Maybe ambition.

The quality you most like in a man?

Courage and faithfulness.

The quality you most like in a woman?

Grace and wisdom.

What do you most value in your friends?

Honesty, faith in me, passion for life.

What is your principle defect?

I think too much.

What is your favourite occupation?

Being a 20year old girl.

What is your dream of happiness?

Simplicity. Life. Love.

What to your mind would be the greatest misfortunes?

To never be vulnerable with people, to never like your own company, to never wholeheartedly embrace Jesus.

What would you like to  be?

Fearless, honest, passionate, intelligent, creative.

In what country would you like to live?

Australia for now.  Can I choose a continent instead for later?

What is your favourite colour?

Blue. Black and white.

What is your favourite flower?

Lupins. Orchids.

What is your favourite bird?

Flamingos. They are like awkward teenagers – long legs, little head, big nose.

Who are your favourite prose writers?

C.S. Lewis. Melody Carlson. Donald Miller. Khaled Hosseini. Edward Said.

Who are your favourite poets?

W.H. Auden. Matthew Thiessen.

Who is your favourite hero of fiction?

I honestly can’t think of one.

Who are your favourite heroines of fiction?

Tessa Quayle. Little Miss Vixen.

Who are your favourite composers?

Angus and Julia Stone. Brooke Fraser.

Who are your favourite painters?

Chagall. Picasso.

Who are your heroes in real life?

Everyday ordinary inspiring people. My mum.

What is it you most dislike?

Those who take their problems with you to everyone else, never bringing it to you.

What natural gift would you most like to possess?

Uncanny ease and confidence in all social settings.

How would you like to die?

When I’m really old, really quickly and by accident. I’ll do my living on purpose.

What is your present state of mind?

Mellow. Very mellow.

To what faults do you feel most indulgent?

Buying beautiful things.

What is your motto?

I’m not so sure I have one. 2009 might be the year I find one. I’ll let you know.

Oh, not my motto, but favourite quote..

“Be daring, be different, be impractical, be anything that will assert integrity of purpose and imaginative vision against the play-it-safers, the creatures of the common place, the slaves of the ordinary.” – Sir Cecil Beaton.

Your name or pseudo?

Laura. Rory. Laulie. Bora Bora. Lau.

2 thoughts on “The Proust Questionnaire…

Leave a Reply

