Blistering barnacles!

I got very excited toninght to see that my friend and fellow Baskins addict, Ruth, had updated her blog. She posted a very interesting article about the future of Africa and the role of Christianity. It was great. You should read it.

Intrigued by author Matthew Parris’ atheist perspective and his observations about a faith I call my own and a continent I’m sooooo interested in, I scrolled down to find other articles by him. Maybe a thoughtful piece on religion, culture, philosphy, even an insight into his own personal beliefs. It was then I stumbled across an article that  knocked my socks off, has shaken me to the core, devastated me even.

Read here: Of course Tintin’s gay. Just ask Snowy.

An excerpt:

Billions of blue blistering barnacles, isn’t it staring us in the face? Sometimes a thing’s so obvious it’s hard to see where the debate could start. What debate can there be when the evidence is so overwhelmingly one-way? A callow, androgynous blonde-quiffed youth in funny trousers and a scarf moving into the country mansion of his best friend, a middle-aged sailor? A sweet-faced lad devoted to a fluffy white toy terrier, whose other closest pals are an inseparable couple of detectives in bowler hats, and whose only serious female friend is an opera diva…

. . . And you’re telling me Tintin isn’t gay?

Of course, like Michelle Farr (a Tintinologist…now there’s a career option) and international photojournalist Nick Danziger, who both insistently deny Parris’ claim, I refuse to believe that Tintin is gay. Just not possible in my books. I’ve read almost all the books and seen every episode of the tv series (bought it in Dubai for about the same amout of money I spent on meals for the entire three months I was in Ghana!) Not once did the thought ever cross my mind.  But I’m still a little shaky about all of this…..

3 thoughts on “Blistering barnacles!

  1. I wouldn’t put any stock in the words of a man (or woman) who claims in a published article that he worked for Mi6

  2. Pingback: blog in review? « laura and friends

Leave a Reply

