Grey’s Anatomised…

I’ve watched an unhealthy amount of TV lately. Not live to air stuff, oh no, one large eucalyptus took off with our antenna and left us with fuzzy snowy veiwing. No, I’m talking about the box set phenomena. First it was all four seasons of The OC in not so many more days. I then dabbled in One Tree Hill. Now I’m into the really good stuff – Grey’s Anatomy. I’m loving the music, and not just Kate Havnevik. Check out Eulogy by The Hereafters, very very good.

I’m trying to figure out if I’m a Meredith, Christina, Izzy, Callie, Miranda, Addison or even Lexi. I’m developing theories on how season five will unfold. I’m still wishing Burke was around. I’m even secretly wishing I was studying medicine (then I realise its just TV and completely over glamourised).

Most of all, I’m loving Meredith’s voice over at the beginning and end of each episode. I want ‘The Life of Laura’ to have a voice over. Something wise and moving, inspiring, challenging and true. A statement that defines each day, that brings together all the frayed story ends, tying them together into a TV-worthy tale.

But then I realise that voice overs are only for television. Unless you go all Summer Roberts, taping yourself speak and playing it back later. Instead, I get a ‘voice under’. The still small voice. Always wise and moving, inspiring, challenging and true. It’s really hard, but I want to let that define my day, to bring it all together at the end. Even when life is not resolved. Or doesn’t make sense. Or seems more like a TV drama than I thought possible.

Anyhow…some Meredith-inspired wisdom for you…

A couple of hundred years ago, Benjamin Franklin shared with the world the secret of his success. Never leave that till tomorrow, he said, which you can do today. This is the man who discovered electricity. You think more people would listen to what he had to say.

I don’t know why we put things off, but if I had to guess, I’d have to say it has a lot to do with fear. Fear of failure, fear of rejection, sometimes the fear is just of making a decision, because what if you’re wrong? What if you’re making a mistake you can’t undo? The early bird catches the worm. A stitch in time saves nine. He who hesitates is lost.

We can’t pretend we hadn’t been told. We’ve all heard the proverbs, heard the philosophers, heard our grandparents warning us about wasted time, heard the damn poets urging us to seize the day. Still sometimes we have to see for ourselves. We have to make our own mistakes. We have to learn our own lessons. We have to sweep today’s possibility under tomorrow’s rug until we can’t anymore. Until we finally understand for ourselves what Benjamin Franklin really meant.

That knowing is better than wondering, that waking is better than sleeping, and even the biggest failure, even the worst, beat the hell out of never trying.

4 thoughts on “Grey’s Anatomised…

  1. I wish I could cut out the gory stuff so you could, you’d really love it I think. And yeah, gotta love summer, she’s choosing a swim suit or something hey? she’s my favourite 🙂

  2. for lack of english tv ive been downloading waaay too many tv series, ive been thru 7 seasons of ‘the shield’, 5 seasons of ‘the wire’, 1 season of ‘terminator chronicles’ and am embarking on season 6 and 7 of west wing, followed by season 3 of dexter!

    somehow i just wont have enough time for gossip girl…

Leave a Reply

