Grey’s Anatomy

I tried to stop myself.

I tried very hard, I promise. I mean, I’m not trying to win ‘lame blog post of the year’, really I’m not. And for those of you who aren’t Grey’s fans, this will be really really lame. I get that.

If you posted about Lost or Brothers and Sisters or any other show that I don’t watch , I would also think you lame. I might even say it to your face. “You dedicated an entire post to quotes and lyrics and thoughts about a stupid TV show? Seriously??” That’s what I would say.

But I’ve just watched an entire Season Five of Grey’s Anatomy all on my own and I’m not good at watching TV shows all by myself. I watched most of the other seasons off a teeny tiny Ipod screen, squished on a ricketty old bed in the middle of  a refugee camp with girls who were happy to be teary when George’s father died, or yell ‘Seriously?‘ and shake our fists at the teeny tiny screen when Addison showed up or Meredith and Derek broke up yet again.

But I’m on my own with this one.  Given I’ve watched a ridiculous number of episodes in a very short space of time, I have a lot to process. A LOT. Don’t worry, I won’t spoil anything or give away the season finale.

But to help me process, I’ve collected just a couple of quotes – mostly from Mer’s voiceovers at the beginning and end. They aren’t quite as engaging without the emotional imagery and moving music in the background. But they are still good.

So here they are. Read them. Help me process.

You never know the biggest day of your life is the biggest day. Not until it’s happening. You don’t recognize the biggest day of your life, not until you’re right in the middle of it. The day you commit to something or someone. The day you get your heart broken. The day you meet your soul mate. The day you realize there’s not enough time, because you wanna live forever. Those are the biggest days. The perfect days.

– Izzy Stevens

As doctors we can’t undo our mistakes, and we rarely forgive ourselves for them. But, it’s a hazard of the trade. But, as human beings we can always try to do better. To be better. To right a wrong. Even when it feels irreversible. Of course, I’m sorry doesn’t always cut it. Maybe because we use it so many different ways. As a weapon. As an excuse. But, when we are really sorry, when we use it right. When we mean it. When our actions say what words never can. When we get it right “I’m sorry” is perfect. When we get it right, “I’m sorry” is redemption.

– Meredith Grey

Every surgeon has a shadow. And the only way to get rid of a shadow, is to turn off the light. To stop running from the darkness, and face what you fear. Head on.

– Meredith Grey

We don’t wish for the easy stuff. We wish for big things. Things that are ambitious, out of reach. We wish because we need help and we’re scared and we know we may be asking too much. We still wish, though, because sometimes they come true.

– Meredith Grey

And lastly, a song from one of the last few episodes. I really like it’s sound. I really like it’s lyrics. I really like the line about entering the town ‘like new born creatures‘ and ‘we are just ash in a jar‘. But those are deep thoughts for another post. When I’m not being so lame.

All Thieves – Turn and Turn Again

Worn from walking this far
So worn from talking this much
And what we found and what we’ve seen
As the road curves down

And the lights come up to meet us
Silent for the evening
We enter this town
Like new born creatures

Those I know I see anew
And the space between us is reduced
For I am human
And you are human too

So turn and turn again
We are calling in all the ships
Every traveller please come home
And tell us all that you have seen

Break every lock to every door
Return every gun to every drawer
So we can turn
And turn again

Only priests and clowns can save us now
Only a sign from God or a hurricane
Can bring about
The change we all want

And we’ve done it again
This trick we have
Of turning love to pain
And peace to war

We’re just ash in a jar

So turn and turn again
We are calling in all the ships
Every traveller please come home
And tell us all that you have seen

Break every lock to every door
Return every gun to every drawer
So we can turn
And turn again

5 thoughts on “Grey’s Anatomy

  1. heyyyy Laura…I am a greys addict as well:P and i was just watching some old episodes and i really liked this song “turn and turn again” but i didnt quite get the meaning…so can u tell me the message of the song plzzzzz? since u r a greys addict and we share that:P
    have a nice day

Leave a Reply

