Wuthering Heights

In an attempt to outdo Rory Gilmore, I have 26 books of various genres and subjects, eras and authors, all spread across my bedroom floor. The goal, already deemed unreachable, is to finish all 26 by the end of summer. I know this is an impossibility, why? Well firstly, I threw a textbook in there, you know, just for fun, and secondly, there are just way too many episodes of Gilmore Girls to be consumed.

However, thought I’d share a thought or a quote or a snippet or a snarky comment about each after I finished them, as proof that I have actually finished them. That, or as proof that I am well acquainted with the Wikipedia version.

I enjoyed Wuthering Heights, though it’s the kind of book I wish I had studied at school or uni. With intriguing characters such as Heathcliff, Edgar Linton, Catherine, both young and old, and the entire Earnshaw family, and the exploration of  complex themes such as ‘The destructiveness of a love that never changes’ and ‘The precariousness of Social Class’ (and yes, SparkNotes must be credited there), Wuthering Heights could provide lots of nitty gritty discussion that little bookworms like myself simply adore.

And to finish, a favourite quote:

“I cannot express it; but surely you and everbody have a notion that there is, or should be, an existence of yours beyond you. What were the use of my creation if I were entirely contained here? My great miseries in this world have been Heathcliff’s miseries, and I watched and felt each from the beginning; my great thought in living is himself. If all else perished, and he remained, I should still continue to be; and, if all else remained, and he were annihilated, the Universe would turn to a mighty stranger. I should not seem a part of it. My love for Linton is like the foliage in the woods. Time will change it, I’m well aware, as winter changes the trees – my love for Heathcliff resembles the eternal rocks beneath – a source of little visible delight, but necessary. Nelly, I am Heathcliff – he’s always, always in my mind – not as a pleasure, anymore than I am always a pleasure to myself – but, as my own being – so, don’t talk of our seperation again…”

– Catherine

Leave a Reply

