last tuesday night

So I really should have posted this earlier, but I’ve had such a huge week that I just didn’t find the time! I had the most delightful seven course meal on Tuesday evening, as we celebrated my gorgeous friend Anna’s 23rd birthday. If you’re a Brisbanite, you really should check this place out – Hospitality Training Association on 269 Wickham Street, Fortitude Valley.

They do a delicious seven course degustation menu on Monday through to Thursday evenings, and a four course degustation menu on Tuesday through Friday. And the best part? Dinner is only $30 and Lunch is only $20. You can get a sneak peek of the kind of feast they put on here – though when we were there they had a new menu.

I tried my best to sneak out with one of the menus in my handbag, but I was unsuccessful. But from memory, it included…

Canapes: A delicious oyster, in a special sauce, and a sweet potato fritatta

Entree: A salmon bite, a pork dip and crisp, and a marinated Roma tomato dish.

Soups: Potato and leek, Peking Duck and a Mussel soup (all ah-maz-ing!)

Sorbet: Melon flavoured – perhaps?

Main: I had the duck, with pear and wilted spinach and it was delicious!

Cheese: A riccotta ‘thing’

Dessert: (my favourite part!) Panacotta with rosella jam and lemon, Chocolate and almond brownie and Creme Brulee. Again, AH-MAZ-ING!

Everything came out beautifully presented. The portions were on the smaller size, but by the end of seven course, you were incredibly full. And the service was just fantastic! Who wants to go back with me!?

One thought on “last tuesday night

Leave a Reply

