Nine

I don’t even remember this film coming out at the cinemas and if a girlfriend hadn’t picked out the DVD last night, I probably wouldn’t have even seen it. But I’m so glad she did.

I don’t know if I would rave or gush. I do know I’ve been thinking through the story, pondering the cast of amazing leading ladies (Kate Hudson, Nicole Kidman, Judi Dench, Penelope Cruz etc. etc.) and replaying the songs on YouTube. Worth watching I think – even if only for the snippets of Italian scenery – oh my!

My most favourite character was Guido’s wife, played by Marion Cottilard. Gorgeous, talented and a great voice, she’s absolutely amazing and I think I shall try and borrow out every single other film she’s even been in… She reminds me somewhat of Audrey Hepburn, but I think she’s even prettier – less gaunt, more screen presence.

Here’s a clip of her two songs.

Leave a Reply

