#12 – Read 20 books I haven’t read before

Ever since my university days, where most of my study time was taken up reading foreign policy textbooks and journal articles, I’ve found it hard to find the time to read for pleasure. So in an attempt to carve out some time and fill my head with faraway places, I’ve committed to reading 20 books I haven’t read before (#12 on my 23 Things list).

In the last six months, I’ve read The Little Prince, Reaching for the Invisible God, Committed: A Love Story, The Slap, The Marriage Book, Mud, Sweat and Tears and Hunger Games.

I wouldn’t recommend The Slap as I found it hard to get into, hard to relate to any of the characters and hard to get through a few crude parts. Committed: A Love Story didn’t catch my interest nearly as much as Eat, Pray, Love, but I guess that’s understandable when Gilbert was so against getting married and I was about three months out from my wedding.

Mud, Sweat and Tears made me want to climb a mountain – I’m awfully impressionable like that. The Marriage Book was worth a read before getting married, The Little Prince was delightful and I just gobbled up The Hunger Games. And if I were to strongly recommend any of the list, it would be Reaching for the Invisible God. It really made me think at a time I really needed to be thinking.

one. two. three. four. five. six. seven.

I’m part way through Birds Without Wings, and I have another three books waiting on my bedside table. My sister also has the second and third Hunger Games books for me too.

That leaves another seven books to be added to the list by July 6, 2012. What shall those books be? I’d love some recommendations. Perhaps a quick read, a couple of non-fiction and a few auto/biographies? What are you reading at the moment? What has inspired you, challenged you, delighted you? What should I read next?

Merci beaucoup!

4 thoughts on “#12 – Read 20 books I haven’t read before

  1. Fiction: The Poisonwood Bible (one of my top two favourite books ever) and The Good Earth.

    Autobiography: It’s Not About The Bike.

    Non-fiction: The Paleo Solution (an in-depth, but very easy read about nutrition).

  2. Easy/Fun/Autobiography – Bossypants, by Tina Fey. Hilarious.

    Autobiography/Philosphy – Walden, by Henry David Thoreau

    Fiction/Easy Read – The Help

    Non-fiction – Hamlet’s Blackberry; Emotionally Healthy Spirituality, by Peter Scazzero

  3. Well I just had to offer some suggestions.

    The Help (borrow it off Sarah). Easy read with real issues.

    Steve Jobs Biography. I wouldn’t want I’m in my class.

    I thought 3 Cups of Tea was wonderful until the author was found to be telling tales.

    Read, read, read.

Leave a Reply

