+ art inspired +

Sometime last year I stumbled across these wonderful doggy artworks. Isn’t there something fun about a beautiful big puppy hanging on the wall?

Source: etsy.com via Laura on Pinterest

Source: mylittleapartment.blogspot.com via Laura on Pinterest

One thing I’ve worked hard at for Smurf Haus, is designing our home in a way that isn’t too girly. Having endless blue walls help, though I will be honest and say, if I didn’t share a home with Will, you would be seeing a lot more of that bright coral pink colour from the puppy above splashed around the place.

Anyhow, we had a big empty wall that needed some love, and I was after a piece of art that wasn’t too feminine. So a puppy painting it was!

I used a canvas and kids acrylic paints from Bunnings, and sketched a puppy silhouette off an image online. The puppy may have originally been a boy, but I felt awkward that you could tell, plus we decided to call her ‘Lucy’, so certain defining features had to be painted out 😉

I’m arty but I’ve never been too good with paints, so I was very happy with how it turned out. Lucy is the puppy we’re not allowed to have and she’s the perfect addition to our little lounge room.

Leave a Reply

