#14 – Make a big deal out of birthdays

I’ve already decided I’d like to stick to this even after my year is over. Making a big deal out of birthdays has been fun for the birthday kids, but surprisingly even more fun for me. I get such a happiness kick out of it.

The underlying principle has been to do just that bit extra than I normally would to celebrate someone on their special day – buy a gift if I’d normally just send a text, make an effort when it’d be easy and understandable to let the day pass, throw a party when they least expect it.

When a friend in Nairobi organised a surprise birthday dinner for his wife, we not only made an effort to be there, but also brought along a small gift.

IMG_6122When our German friends invited us to Hot Pot as a combined birthday / farewell party, we brought a packet of party hats to get us into the party spirit.

When a dear girlfriend turned 24 back in Australia, I didn’t just rely on an email or fb message, which would be the easiest route to follow when living 1000s of kilometres away. I waited until the latest book by one of our favourite authors was released, ordered it on Amazon and had it sent over.

When my sister’s birthday rolled round, I sent beautiful Blossom and Twine flowers AND created a fb album of photos highlighting my favourite things about her.

1

2And when we realised we’d be missing the 30th birthday of an Aussie friend who has been visiting us here, we organised a surprise birthday party with a bunch of guys, feeding them ribs and birthday cake and singing happy birthday. I actually didn’t hang around for all of that because the conversation of eight guys quickly turned to rugby and UFC groin injuries, and I just didn’t have anything to contribute.

Doing just that little bit more really hasn’t cost me much extra, and yet I get such a good feeling spoiling people on their birthday and I think it really makes people feel special.

Leave a Reply

