A birthday list in review

My birthday was a couple of weeks ago and I’ve surprised myself with how much of my ’24 things to do before 25′ birthday list I got through. I’m such a list nerd! But here’s my little birthday list in review…

Learn Swahili – Pole pole (slowly slowly).

Start a ‘quote collection’Check (with about a million others floating around my inbox).

comparison-quoteWear my hair in pretty hairstyles – I tried these out and they were really very easy and looked lovely. But I still tend to revert to a boring ponytail or low bun for work.

Keep a tidy work and personal inbox – done! I’ve gone from literally hundreds of unread emails, to keeping it to double digits all year. So proud.

Make a 2012 Year Book for our little family – Progress here and I’m looking forward to holding the hardcopy version when I’m home.

Screen shot 2013-04-09 at 4.39.01 PMBuy our second world globe to start our collection – we hunted for it in Kenya, in Tanzania, in Ethiopia, but we ended up finding it in Italy. In Zara Home. But still, Italy!

Organise a ‘Week of Surprises’ for my husband – Check. Lucky boy.

Hold five picnics in five spectacular locations – Beach in Zanzibar. By a waterfall, and above a hyena den in Ethiopia. On a farm in Tuscany, and in a park in the middle of Florence.

Have real flowers in our home, alwaysCheck (and check).

IMG_5169Send 52 tidbits of snail mail – I’ve never sent so many postcards in my life!

Read my Bible everyday – I really wish I had, but I must confess I didn’t.

Memorize a poem – I never got it down pat, but I still love this poem dearly.

Wear perfume everydayAlmost everyday, I’ve been wearing this. Will bought it for me on the last day of our honeymoon, so it always makes me happy.

Make a big deal out of birthdaysCheck.

2Keep a One Sentence Journal for 30 days – I did this when Kate and PC were here in Kenya and I love reading back over memories from our adventures. Then Kate gave me this One Line a Day journal, and so the one sentence record lives on!

Design some pretty skirts and get one made – check!

Start an ‘Article Club’ with friends back home – Oops, I never got around to this one. I love finding good long reads and wanted to get recommendations. But I did find this great list of suggestions and have worked my way through quite a few.

Turn my 365 Days of Laura project into a keepsake – The final product here. Unfortunately Posterous shut down, so my little 365 Day blog is no more.

365-grateful-book3Commit wholeheartedly to getting enough sleep – If I knew how amazing it would feel to get at least eight hours of sleep each night, I would have made this change long ago.

Give away some moolah to a good cause – Check.

Start serving at our new church – Welcome team. Scripture reader. Nairobi Full Life leader.

Always have painted toenails – The abundance of cheap nail polish right near the checkout at Nakumatt really helped me with this.

Go camping with WillCheck. Out in the Ethiopia countryside!

Read 52 books – Will you believe me if I said I did indeed read 52 books? In fact, I read something like 70 books this past year. My three favourites – The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin, Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg and Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Won’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain.

Done! Next up, my ’25 Things To Do Before I turn 26′ List

Leave a Reply

