pen, paint and paper

Since moving to Kenya I’ve done so little art – because all my supplies are in Australia, because I haven’t made the time, because I haven’t had a desk to use, excuses, excuses, rah, rah, rah. But there’s an adequate art selection at my local book store and so a couple of months I picked up some black fine liners and a pack of cheap water colours for a little art session.

I love drawing in black pen. It’s so clean and crisp against a white page.

hairIMG_1350IMG_1351IMG_1355

I’ve never spent a lot of time painting and consequently felt rather clumsy with a brush in my hand, but it was fun playing around with the water colours as well. I tried imitating this peony and Will put in a request for a red-cheeked Cordon Bleu so I gave them a shot too. I think I need to practice a little more before I pop one in a frame for him.

IMG_1347IMG_1352IMG_1353

Leave a Reply

