my word for 2014

For the last four years now, instead of embarking on a list of New Year’s Resolutions I keep a birthday list, originally inspired by Elsie from A Beautiful Mess. I started with 22 Things To Do by 23, then 23 Things, and then 24 and now I’m onto 25 Things to Do Before 26. I was born in early July, so when January 1st does roll around, I channel all the inspiring New Years vibes into pushing through the last six months of my birthday list.

This year I’m still happily working through my list but I’ve also been inspired by a new idea. The idea of choosing one little word to focus on for the year. I first saw it here, and then here and here and here. The concept is so simple – just find a word that resonates with you and let it focus your decisions, your actions and your thoughts over the coming year.

I thought through a whole variety of words before I figured one out. Inspiring words. Action words. Big, powerful moving words. Challenge. Passion. Commitment. Love. Focus. Consistency. Hope. Peace. New. Brave. Magic. Listen. Rely. And so on and so on.

But there was one word I kept coming back to:

Simplicity.

I still can’t put my finger on exactly what it means to me yet, but I know I want simplicity this year. I want less clutter, less fluff, less noise. I want empty table tops and a clearer mind.  I want to stop over thinking and over buying and over organising everything. I want more white space – on the page, in our home, in my heart.

3 thoughts on “my word for 2014

  1. Pingback: my word for 2014 – part 2 | laura swanson

  2. Pingback: the 30-piece wardrobe experiment | laura swanson

  3. Pingback: my one little word | laura swanson

Leave a Reply

