art for every room: living / dining room (buy)

In an effort to turn our house into a home, I’m collecting ideas and inspiration for art we can hang on our bare walls. I’ve got a handful of DIY ideas and a wishlists of lovely pieces to buy, so I thought I’d turn my mullings into a little blog series – let’s call it Art for Every Room – and perhaps we can all try to include a little more art in our lives!

Here’s my second round up of wonderful art to buy (see options for your study here). I like the idea of art that is either personal or a little bit funny in a living space. We spend so much time in our living/dining room that it only makes sense to make the space feel happy and homey. If money were no object, Will and I would LOVE to hang Carla Fletcher’s The Alchemist in our living room. I love it’s quirky Australiana vibe – it’s a rather stylish homage to the motherland, no?

the alchemist carla fletcher

The Alchemist by Carla Fletcher

$2,500

Here are eight other (slightly more affordable!) options I love almost as much:

pretty maps amsterdam aaron straup

Pretty Maps Amsterdam by Aaron Straup Cope

From US$60

I love map art! I especially love the colours in this print and I can think of a handful of Dutch friends who might appreciate this pretty piece in their home.

map society 6

Louis Armstrong Told Us So by Bianca Green

From US$36

For the wanderer with a serious case of the travel bug, or the enthusiastic cartographer. I love all that extra white space.

4247-stamen-design-watercolor-sydney_8cdebb36-66e4-4fd2-ba31-9d2a07293870_1024x1024

Watercolour Sydney by Stamen Design

From US$60

If I were to hang another map in our living room (we already have one of these to pin up), it would probably be the map of my hometown Brisbane. But technically I was born in Sydney, so I’d consider this one too!

efgart animal portraits

Animal Portraits by Erin Fitzhugh Gregory

Enquire with the artist for prices

These are the most adorable puppy oil paintings, I love the way the artist captures the light and the sweet expressions of these dogs. You can commission Erin to paint your own animal baby and I think it would add the perfect personal touch to a living space.

flamingo

Flamingo Print by Dimdimini

US$35

The quirky flamingo is my favourite bird and this pretty print available on Etsy is classy and fun and would look great in a frame, perched in a bookshelf.

compass zach terrell

Compass by Zach Terrell

From US$34

This print feels a little more masculine and would work well amongst Scandinavian-inspired decor, or to bring some black and white to a wildly colourful space.

modern art craig damrauer

Modern Art by Craig Damrauer

From US$60

As both a math and an art geek in highschool (a rare breed, let me tell you), I laughed out loud when I first saw this piece. I’d hang it in a spot that’s not yet visible when you first enter a room – let people discover it as they settle into a comfy couch or pull up a chair for dinner.

street walker kevin russ

Street Walker by Kevin Russ

From US$34

Because everyone needs a bison in their life and in their living room.

Leave a Reply

