Back from Istanbul

We had a wonderful week away in Istanbul. It was an unexpected and last minute trip, but we managed to squeeze in the big sites and get plenty of down time together as well.

Here’s a quick pic of me at Topkapi Palace.

IMG_0880

I’m sharing more photos and details on our personal blog, but here’s a few random tidbits:

We stayed at this great Airbnb apartment and loved it.

I did my best to pack lightly, and did a week of travel on something like ten items of clothing – surely a personal record.. I’ve come a long way…

I had a few books on my Kindle that I’d been meaning to read for ages, but of course someone else’s book shelf is always more interesting. I read In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan and it was very thought-provoking.

Highlights of the trip included the great food, some gorgeous architecture, wandering through pretty little alleyways, and flicking through the first Ikea catalogue I’ve got my hands on in two years.

We were there to relax and recuperate as much as we were there for the sites, so it was fun to be back in a rather developed city (at least in the areas we visited) and enjoy treats like hot water on demand, trendy cafes and buying some basics (jeans, tees) that didn’t cost the earth. Head over here if you’d like to see some more of this fascinating city.

Leave a Reply

