some good advice

IMG_2243

There’s a passage in a beautiful book called Bloom that has stuck with me long after I finished reading. The author, Kelle Hampton, had just given birth to her second daughter, a sweet little baby with an unexpected extra chromosome. In the first few days of dealing with the Down Syndrome diagnosis, Kelle’s sister flew in from out of town and delivers an inspiring speech on just how exactly she will go forward. The line that stood out to me most:

“I want you to picture some hypothetical person in your mind – someone who handled Down Syndrome exactly like you wish you could.

Now go and be that person.”

I keep coming back to that idea. Isn’t it so applicable to so much of life?

When I’m facing any kind of challenge and confused about how to move forward, the act of imagining someone else handling the situation brings clarity. And perspective. How do I want to handle it? How will I choose to move forward?

When I’m feeling powerless, I can decide to respond and not react, to let it be an opportunity to be the kind of person I want to be.

I always have that power.

P.S. – Speaking of advice, I mentioned Tiny Beautiful Things by Cheryl Strayed a few posts ago. It is such a beautiful book of beautiful advice. Cheryl wrote an anonymous advice column for awhile, and the book is a compilation of some hard and heartwarming questions and her honest response to them all. It’s definitely on my recommended reading list.

Leave a Reply

