March book report

I read seven books in March: five non-fiction and two fiction novels, which seems to be my standard breakdown. I also finished my epidemiology textbook and all the required readings from my medical statistics textbook, but I’m leaving those off the list 😉

Simplify: Ten Practices to Unclutter Your Soul (reread)

The first time I read this, I was expecting a different angle and I  read it very quickly (too quickly!) and was perhaps disappointed. But the second time, I was able to read it for what it was and took a lot more away from it.

The Triple Package: What Really Determines Success

After rereading Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother in February, I was intrigued to read this next book by Amy Chua. Totally fascinating, totally the type of non-fiction I most enjoy – research and anecdotes and observations about social issues. I’ve been forever intrigued by Mormons and the longer I live overseas, the more interested I’ve become in American and immigrant cultures. This book was my favourite read in March.

House of Sand and Fog

A book off the reading challenge list I’m working through, I finally picked it up actually because it was mentioned in The Triple Package. It was a powerful story but it left me a depressed fog myself, and in hindsight I should of put it down and picked up something else a little cheerier rather than persevering through it.

Black and White Bible, Black and Blue Wife

What a title, right?! A powerful, shocking story about domestic violence – in the author’s marriage, but also in the wider church. I feel deeply that this is an issue that the church and the community needs to talk about more, to deal with so much better and to bring into the light. I have great admiration for Ruth Tucker for penning this book.

Finnish Lessons 2.0: What Can the World Learn from Educational Change in Finland?

After 5 months working with an education NGO last year, I’ve been more and more interested in the field of education. I read an article on the Finnish system and based on this book a few years ago and it stuck with me – it was super interesting to then read about Finland’s success in much more detail. The simple logic of investing in teachers makes so much sense to me, and now I’m intrigued as to why other countries haven’t explored similar approaches.

The Nightingale

A beautiful, heart-breaking story and one of my favourite fiction reads this year. Recommended if you enjoy historical fiction set during the war years.

Year of Yes: How to Dance It Out, Stand in the Sun and Be Your Own Person

An easy and mostly enjoyable read, but I don’t think I’d recommend it. It felt rather self-indulgent and a little hard to connect to – many of the stories are very specific to the author’s life and lifestyle and I think it fell short when trying to inspire the wider audience.

Previous reports: January, February

One thought on “March book report

Leave a Reply

