April book report

As always, I’m amazed at how quickly this year is flying by. How is it already mid-May?

I read a lot in April (a streak which has not continued into May, I will confess!), so here’s a quick round up:

My Beloved World

I picked this book after it was mentioned in The Triple Package (which I read in March), and also because the Supreme Court was all over the news for a while after Scalia died. And while Sotomayor doesn’t actually write about her life after she was appointed to the Supreme Court, her early life is fascinating, at times heartbreaking, but also completely inspiring.

The Smartest Kids in the World: And how they got that way

After reading Finnish Lessons, this book popped up on my ‘recommended for you’ list on Amazon. It was less academic than Finnish Lessons and as such, perhaps more engaging, exploring a number of key issues in education through the eyes of three American students and backed up with interesting research.

Me Before You

I finally read this after reading rave reviews for ages. Perhaps it’s the rave reviews that lift expectations far too high? I enjoyed it, I wouldn’t rave about it, I felt like most of it was fairly predictable.

Pride and Prejudice (on the list)

How is this the very first time I’m reading Pride and Prejudice?? Loved it, of course, and already hunting down the 6 hour BBC film version on the recommendation of various friends.

The Importance of Being Earnest (reread)

Because it’s quick, light and funny, perfect for a dreary Nairobi commute.

The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House

I saw this recommended by Shauna Niequist on Instagram (along with The Big Short – below), which seems to be where I’m finding a handful of book recommendations lately. What an enjoyable read! Author Kate Andersen Brower brings together interviews with White House staff and former First ladies to give a glimpse into life in the White House.

First Women: The Grace and Power of America’s Modern First Ladies

Straight after The Residence, I dived into Andersen Brower’s second book on the White House, this time focused on the First Ladies who have graced its rooms. As a political science major, I especially appreciated reading some of the behind-the-scene action of major political events over the last couple of decades, from the perspective of the women who were most closely involved with the men making big decisions. Insightful and a pleasure to read.

The Big Short: Inside the Doomsday Machine

I didn’t quite understand all of the finance speak, but clever and engaging story telling that kept me hooked and up far too late one evening! I’m now also in the process of hunting down the film.

Leave a Reply

