May book report

I felt like I spent every waking moment of May with my head in a textbook as I prepared for my exams in early June! But I managed to get some ‘for fun’ reading in as well, mostly thanks quick spurts of reading in the taxi to and from work.

In an effort to save some cash and capitalise on all the books I already own, I leaned heavily towards ‘rereading’ this month. I know some people never reread, but there is something really lovely about revisiting a book you already know you will thoroughly enjoy. I often find I enjoy a book even more the second time around – you pick up little things you may have missed and are reminded of all the reasons you enjoyed the plot the first time around.

Focus: The Hidden Driver of Excellence (reread)

Well, I got halfway through this. Ironic that I couldn’t focus on a book about focus? It was good the first time, and I’d love to reread the whole thing soon, but I just didn’t have the brainpower this month.

Wild: A Journey from Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail (reread)

Inspiring.

Interrupted: When Jesus Wrecks Your Comfortable Christianity (reread)

Challenging.

Travelling Mercies: Some Thoughts on Faith (reread)

Thought provoking.

When Helping Hurts: How to Alleviate Poverty Without Hurting the Poor and Yourself

I’ve heard various people talk about this book, and finally read it for myself. I was hoping for some fresh insight, but it was a good refresher on a number of concepts/ideas/notions that are so key to good ‘development’ work.

Previous reports: January, February, March, April

Leave a Reply

