27 before 28 – birthday list review

One of my favourite things about my birthday each year is reflecting on my ‘birthday list’ and brainstorming ideas for my next one. I turned 28 earlier this month, here’s my review of my 27 before 28 list.

Things I completed:

Safari in Samburu

We celebrated our birthdays this year with a long weekend up in Samburu. And after four years in Kenya, we saw a leopard! Two leopards!

Start my Masters

Check! One year down, one gazillion to go 🙂

Send handwritten letters

Well, kind of. I sent a handful of handwritten postcards and cards. Forever a fan of real mail.

Read 10 books from the Rory Gilmore list

Is this totally cheesy? It was a fun way to find new books and read some classics I might not necessarily have made time from. I read 1. Year of Magical Thinking, 2. Heart of Darkness, 3. Living History, 4. The Secret Life of Bees, 5. Flowers for Algernon, 6. One Hundred Years of Solitude, 7. You Learn By Living, 8. How to Breathe Underwater, 9. House of Sand and Fog and 10. Pride and Prejudice.

And I absolutely loved Year of Magical Thinking, The Secret Life of Bees and Flowers for Algernon.

Print 5 new photos

I still haven’t printed a handful of travel photos we want to hang up, but I’ve got some great photos of friends up on our fridge now 🙂

Lasagna on the 18th

I don’t know if I can really count this one as done as I only made lasagna a few times, instead of twelve, and I think I only made it on the 18th once. But

Year 3 of the One Line a Day diary

One of the best little memory keeping activities.

Say yes!

Yes!

Take a hot bath

And it was glorious!

Put myself out there work wise

I’ve been happily employed this past year, and that’s a great feeling.

Continue my ethical wardrobe

Most of my new purchases continue to be second-hand, more eco-friendly, or more ethically sourced. I say most, because there have been a few purchases that have slipped through, but even living in Kenya it has been possible to make my wardrobe better!

Long walks with Rum

More, but still not enough.

More cuddles with Will

🙂

Less Facebook, more email

No Facebook on my phone

Eat at five new Nairobi restaurants

Maybe the easiest item on the list? There are new restaurants opening up here every month, and everyone knows I love my food.

Get organized (outer order = inner calm)

This planner has been my lifesaver this year.

End our use of ‘one-use’ plastic

No more clingwrap, and no more disposable plates. Lots of recycling of take away containers.

Eat the Kengeles steak

Check.

Get rid of 30 things

I didn’t keep track, but I can be a fairly ruthless purger when it comes down to it.

As per every year, there were a handful of things that I didn’t get done. Too busy, too lazy, clearly didn’t want to do them enough! But every year there’s a new birthday list and there’s something thinking up new items for my birthday bucket list that I love.

 

Leave a Reply

