October + November book report

Since I’m waaay behind on both months, I decided to combine them for the joint book report. Here’s everything I read in October and November:

Little House in the Big Woods

Farmer Boy

Little House on the Prairie

On the Banks of Plum Creek

By the Shores of Silver Lake

The Long Winter

The Elegance of the Hedgehog

So You’ve Been Publicly Shamed

The Happiness Project (reread)

Commonwealth

The Warmth of Other Suns

The Gifts of Imperfection

Rising Strong

I did lots of good reading in October and November and could write a lot about each book listed!

Perhaps the overall highlight was discovering that the Laura Ingalls Wilder books were FINALLY available as e-books, after religiously checking online every few months since I very first got my Kindle back in 2012. I first read the Little House Series when I was in Grade 2, a whole 20 years ago, and I have to say that rereading a beloved childhood favourite is truly delightful way to unwind and relax after a stressful day at work. I’m through the first six, with three left to complete.

I also jumped on Brene Brown train for the first time with Rising Strong and The Gifts of Imperfection, and picked up So You’ve Been Publicly Shamed after not one, but two Averill girls recommended it to me.

In October I also discovered the By the Book feature in the New York Times, a discovery which has added countless books to my ‘must read’ list. It was on recommendation from one of the featured authors that I picked up both The Warmth of Other Suns and Commonwealth.

The Warmth of Other Suns is up near the top of my favourite non-fiction reads in 2016, a fascinating, well-researched and engaging story of the mass migration of African Americans from the South to the North during the 1930s onwards.

Commonwealth was equally impressive and would be high on my favourite fiction list!

Previous book reports here.

 

Leave a Reply

